Homeless

Homeless

At this very moment I’m sitting in a hotel in Portland, Oregon.  I arrived early this morning, having taken the red eye out the night before, and by all accounts I ought to be exhausted, I ought to be passed out on my pillow.  And yet the act of turning out the lights, of snuggling under the covers on a cold December night, my first truly cold night in nearly a year, made me feel a severe pang of homesickness.

Homesick?  For what?  The bed that isn’t mine, that came with the apartment that isn’t mine, on an island that isn’t mine in a life that surely isn’t mine because I just fell into it?

Do I miss my current apartment in Waikiki, two roommates that never do dishes, overpriced rent and lack of sunlight?  Do I miss my previous apartment in Makiki, with my adoptive Chinese parents, Hello Kitty blanket on loan?  Surely not my aunt’s house, terrorized by a stranger-relative one inch away from madness.  Maybe I miss my aunt’s hosue as it had been before, when I’d come on vacation, the idealized memories of it.

Miss my apartment in Cincinnati, my ghetto apartment where everyone feared to visit, but mine alone and unshared, and the tall ceilings with tall windows that let all the cold in and heat out.  Or the one before that, up the hill, and in the winter when the leaves fell you could see the river with the steam rising from it and the snowy banks and the stillness.   Before that was Hell, living with my mother in the same town I’d spent half my life trying to get back to only to discover that returning wouldn’t solve anything.  And everything before that, what do I miss?  Everything and nothing.

I miss the winter, have missed the winter for months, and yet here in Portland it’s 40 degrees and all I can do is complain about how cold I am.  And sharing a hotel room with my mother, both of us here for the weekend, our only chance at Christmas together, already a day in and she’s driving me mad.

And laying in bed, lights out, eyes wide open and seeing nothing except the gentle strobe of the light on my laptop, the only comfort of home, of a home that isn’t Home, because I’m Homeless, have been Homeless for a long time, because Home is Where The Heart Is and I always seem to leave mine behind, in the previous place, in the past, and even if you find yourself back in that place again, you’ll never return to the past. Because somehow the past, despite everything that went wrong, despite the Hell of the past, somehow it still seems like happier times.

If I keep running, if I keep leaving pieces of myself everywhere, will there even be anything of me left?

This entry was posted in Hawaii, Ohio. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Homeless

  1. MJ says:

    40??? Brrr. The warm humidity will greet you when you step off the plane, at HNL.

    “If I keep running, if I keep leaving pieces of myself everywhere, will there even be anything of me left?”

    I suppose it depends on why you’re running? If a place has nothing more to offer you, it makes sense to move on.

    It’s brave to leave the comforts of home, to see what you can see. You never know when you’ll find a place just right for you. Then again, the fit is never perfect, so where the “right place” is isn’t obvious. The way is never clearly marked, so you don’t have a sense of progress; just a gut feel and a roll of the dice.

    Not a totally related link, but I came across this recently:

    http://www.kenrockwell.com/tech/how-to-afford-anything.htm

    “Today that same brother, who has never had a real job as far as we know, has been traveling the world ever since he was in college. When asked how he does it with no particular source of income, he responds that “most people are too stupid to be poor.” By that he means that most people waste what money they do have on stupid things, like new cars and eating in restaurants, and don’t instead buy their food at the grocery store while traveling. He travels by carefully checking auctions for other peoples’ unused weeks of time shares, so he will travel when he can bag a week in Paris or Tobago for just a couple of hundred dollars. He has to be ready to travel on a moment’s notice when he wins these auctions, another advantage of having no real job.”

    G’luck with the cold weather and your family, you vagabond.

Leave a Reply

